Through a glass wetly

raintree.jpg Yesterday morning dawned wet and blustery. Amazingly, I had slept well the night before, considering that I faced a day of lawyers taking my deposition – I do recall dreams filled with minor annoyances, dream after dream of things I didn’t really want to do :D The morning started out on a slighty anxious note, as the wind was really picking up. I’m a bit sensitized to windstorms now (as I’m sure others are to the rain after Monday) after the storms last winter blew down 40-ft trees in my back yard – thankfully away from the house. The power flickered even before I left the house, so off went the computers and I drove away, figuring that on this day, I had bigger things to worry about.

Strangely, I wasn’t too nervous, though I had to keep reminding myself to focus on the road, considering the very wet and windy driving conditions. I must be getting used to these things somehow. It helps that there are new court rules limiting depositions to a maximum of 7 hours, so you can’t be forced to testify for days on end as in the past. Our deposition room in Tacoma had a beautiful view of Puget Sound and all the amenities you could want. Except it was being videotaped – a new one on me. Hopefully I’ll never have to watch it.

ltf.jpg So, I spent the day sparring with lawyers about the effects of wood waste in the water on aquatic life, and whether or not it can be regulated under Superfund. Thankfully the opposing lawyer was reasonably polite, until near the end when he just wasn’t getting the answers he wanted. A deposition feels like one long contest to prevent the lawyer from getting you to say what he wants and not letting him misrepresent what you do say. Fortunately, I’m good at listening and careful with words. On the plus side we found a great restaurant for lunch with yummy blue crab sandwiches (hey, I have to find something good about the day!).

I must have been more tired than I thought… I got home and tried to watch a movie but fell asleep halfway through :) Anyway, at least I earned the price of my mortgage for the month while defending the environment of Puget Sound – not a bad day’s work!

2 thoughts on “Through a glass wetly

  1. arielle says:

    Love reading your posts – and sending both congratulations and gratitude for what you do – the earth is also grateful!!

  2. Judith B says:

    Am so happy for you, Teresa! And you don’t need “super powers” to be a hero — you already are one!

Leave a Reply

