The Power of Wind

deckdebris2.jpg

Nature 2, Pierce County 0 – First the floods, now the wind… 1.5 million people without power. I can’t remember Seattle ever being 4/5 without power, that just never happens. I seem to know how to pick the windy places to live, and of course I must have my forest, soooo….

cedardown2.jpg

This cedar in my back yard actually came down last year in a windstorm in January, which for me was a lot worse than this one, though apparently not for everyone else. You may not be able to tell, but it was about 60 feet high. Thursday night I spent a good part of the night listening to the alders crashing down in the forest, hoping none of them was close enough to do major damage. I don’t know WHY these things always happen at night – there is nothing scarier than the sound of a tree splintering right before it is about to come down, especially when you know the sound very well and you can’t see where it is falling. I wasn’t really expecting three days without power – I spent a few days ensconced by the gas fire with Sophie, catching up on all those magazines I never have time to read. But by the third night I absconded to my Mom’s house for a shower and a warm bed :)

Coming home today I went out to survey the forest, not much to see in the way of wind damage but a couple of other nice finds:

mushrooms.jpg

Here’s the old stump of the cedar, which I quite like the look of – and right next to it is the stump of the 80′ hemlock I took down just before the windstorms – lucky for me. Both were growing on rotten old stumps and were very unstable. It’s unfortunate… these alders are getting pretty much to the end of their life cycle and have a tendency to fall. Many more windstorms like this one and I’ll need to do some serious replanting. A few evergreens wouldn’t be amiss… maybe next spring.

cedarstump.jpg

2 thoughts on “The Power of Wind

  1. Freesparrow says:

    How strange it is to read this account.

    The wind? We are having some of the worst bushfires ever, and the wind is so influential. The wind drives the fires and it can change so quickly. Wind and fire together are immensely powerful. And the roar of the fire and wind is like a cosmic express train. I first heard this other-worldly noise many years ago and will never forget it.

    Our experiences polarize yours but there will be some similarities in the aftermath of nature’s strength. Certainly we all humbled by it.

  2. Freesparrow says:

    Have come back to this just having read of Kate Fleming’s death because a freak rainstorm flooded her cellar in Seattle which is close to the area you describe. She was apparently trapped.

    Her work was superb and this is such a loss. I am sure you know of her. She made audio books and read on many. It took a while for the news to reach here, and even then I saw it just by chance.

    Vale to a talented woman.

Leave a Reply

