Be careful what you wish for…

arbor2 Yep, we’re talking snow. I’m looking at my previous post wistfully wishing for snow… well, we’ve had it since Tuesday, in piles! It fell continuously for 3 days, and then Friday morning dawned clear and beautiful. In the meantime I had missed my flight to visit a best friend in Santa Cruz, due to lack of airport transportation (and general fears of icy, snow-covered streets and freeways). :(

But Friday was a gorgeous a day as any you could wish for, with fluffly sparkling snow a foot deep in our driveway, trees holding more of it than usual (more on that later), and that wintry, sunny sky with a few white clouds, sun sparkling on the not-even-pretending-to-melt snow. I should have taken pictures then, it was so beautiful – but I was busy shoveling. Between my neighbor and I, we managed to clear our shared driveway, which is no small feat. It’s not as pretty now, with the piles of snow all around… but no fear, it’s snowing again…

driveway1

This morning I noticed the neighbor’s tree had come uprooted and fallen onto the fence, presumably due to the heavy weight of snow. I think it probably was not real healthy to start with, since it used to drop leaves year-round. It was pretty, on the other hand, my vegetable garden will have a lot more sun now. We’ve got a bit of work ahead of us to get it out and shore up the fence, since she can’t afford the insurance deductable. Chain-saw, anyone??

tree-1-small1

Now there is a snow and ice storm coming in for another two days, supposed to be larger than the last. All I care about is that the power stays on… cause it’s going to get awfully cold around here if it doesn’t. My neighbor and I were joking about that tree becoming firewood for her wood-burning stove – not that that’s going to happen anytime soon.

I DID wish for this. Just keep telling myself that :D

One thought on “Be careful what you wish for…

  1. Connie says:

    Hmmm, yes, be careful what you wish for. I have not been able to leave my house since Wed. when we began receiving snow from the same storm. We got a total of 28″ in about 36 hours (broke all the records). The trees all around my house are very heavy with snow and our neighborhood streets have not been plowed yet…and I live in Spokane on the south hill. Plows are working around the clock, but I am still snowbound.

    I am just grateful that we have not lost power, and I have a wood burning stove for heat. It is very cold (5 degrees) and the sun is shining right now, but later this evening it will start to snow again. We are expecting another 5 inches overnight.

    In the midst of all the pre-Christmas rush and stress, this has become an enforced time for stillness, peace, and reflection. Neighbors are checking on one another and helping each other shovel out driveways and unbury cars. And generally there is a sense of quiet beauty in all this.

    Today is the winter solstice, and the first day of the 12 days of Yule. I am using my new Mythical Goddess Tarot to begin the Sacred Days of Yule Spread (http://www.bellaonline.com/ArticlesP/art26918.asp). Normally I would be too busy at this time of year to do a 12 day spread, but not this year. And I am sure that this will end up being a memorable Yule for many different reasons.

    Take care, stay warm, and stay safe. Blessings!

    Connie

Leave a Reply

